Our Team

Committed to
a Vibrant Future

Gary Byrne

President/CEO

Gary Byrne

Gary has over 25 years of nonprofit development and management experience. A native of Dublin, Ireland, he lives in Santa Cruz with his wife and two children.
gbyrne@cffsbc.org
Curt Mead

Director of Operations and Grants

Curt Mead

A resident for 25 years, Curt is recently retired from the mortgage banking world. He and his wife, Marlene, are the proud parents of three sons and a daugher who have blessed them with eight grandchildren. He considers it a privilege to work for an organization that’s dedicated to building a stronger community.
cmead@cffsbc.org
Stephanie Hicks

Director of Development and Outreach

Stephanie Hicks

With more than 15 years of nonprofit development and marketing experience, Stephanie has a busy family life with her husband and two daughters.
shicks@cffsbc.org
Raul Ceja

Digital Media Specialist

Raul Ceja

A storyteller and San Benito County native with expertise in online communications and branding, Raul excels in community engagement. With a BA from UC Riverside in Business Admin & Marketing, he studied Global Emerging Markets at Fudan University in Shanghai.
rceja@cffsbc.org
Sharlene Van Rooy

Communications Coordinator

Sharlene Van Rooy

As a transplant from the east coast, Sharlene likes to pretend she has lived in Hollister all of her life. She’s involved with several nonprofit organizations, including the San Benito County Historical Society.
svanrooy@cffsbc.org
Rebecca Blaettler

Office Manager

Rebecca Blaettler

A resident for 11 years, Rebecca and her husband, Pete, are the proud parents of two daughters. Prior to being the CEO of the Household she worked 12 years as an Administrative Assistant at South Valley National Bank. Rebecca considers it a great honor to serve the community of San Benito County.
rblaettler@cffsbc.org
Our Board of Directors

Dedicated to Serving
San Benito County

Phil Fortino, Chair

Business Banking

Phil Fortino, Chair

A lifelong resident, Business Banking Manager, and involved civic leader, Phil is active in Rotary, the Charlie Presser Memorial Fund, and many other service clubs.
pfortino@cffsbc.org
Rebecca Medeiros Wolf, Vice Chair

Community Leader

Rebecca Medeiros Wolf, Vice Chair

Born and raised in SBC, Rebecca returned to Hollister full time after an absence of 30 years. Following a career in Silicon Valley she brings a wealth of new and innovative ideas to help with the Foundation's role in the community.
rwolf@cffsbc.org
Mike Grace, CFO, Treasurer

Principal, Grace & Associates, CPA

Mike Grace, CFO, Treasurer

Mike has over 30 years of experience in public accounting and is available to help with audit, business planning, taxation, accounting, valuation and a variety of other consulting services. He founded his own local CPA practice in 1986, and in 1998 formed the partnership of Grace & Associates, CPAs.
mgrace@cffsbc.org
Kathy Flores, Secretary

Community Leader

Kathy Flores, Secretary

Now retired, Kathy has been involved in human services and workforce development for over 25 years. She believes that "it is in giving that we receive" and strives to apply this principle to all aspects of her life.
kflores@cffsbc.org
Fernando Gonzalez, Past Chair

Business Owner, True Value Hardware

Fernando Gonzalez, Past Chair

A lifelong resident having served on the city council and many other boards, Fernando is a business owner and respected community leader.
fgonzalez@cffsbc.org
Christine Breen

Attorney, Breen Law Firm

Christine Breen

Christine obtained her Juris Doctor from Santa Clara University and practiced general business law before joining a local law firm in 2008. She continued to represent clients in employment, business, and trusts and estate matters before opening Breen Law Firm in 2013.
cbreen@cffsbc.org
Vince Brigantino

President, True Leaf Farms

Vince Brigantino

Vince resides in SBC with his wife and two sons. He’s a partner in True Leaf Farms, a local grower, shipper, and processor of fresh vegetables.
vbrigantino@cffsbc.org
Alfonso Castañeda

Business Owner, Doña Esthers Mexican Restaurant

Alfonso Castañeda

Al Castañeda founded San Juan Bautista’s Doña Esther in 1982 but recently retired from his family-run business to have more time to travel with his wife, enjoy his grandchildren, and to further serve his community.
acastaneda@cffsbc.org
Alan Clark

Retired Business Owner

Alan Clark

A retired CEO of a local manufacturing company he founded, Alan uses his 40 plus years of managerial capabilities to supplement the board's already considerable experience.
aclark@cffsbc.org
Marilyn Ferreira

Broker, Intero Real Estate

Marilyn Ferreira

Marilyn has been involved in community activities for many years, from the SBC Realtors Association, to President of the Hollister Downtown Association.
mferreira@cffsbc.org
Kay Filice

Business Owner, Filice Farms

Kay Filice

Kay owns and operates Filice Farms and has served on a number of agricultural Boards including Ag Against Hunger. She’s also active in a number of other community organizations.
kfilice@cffsbc.org
Steve Hudner

Community Leader

Steve Hudner

A descendant of a local pioneer family, Steve brings strength, perspective, and many years of experience being actively involved in the community.
shudner@cffsbc.org
Susan Schwabacher Modic

Community Leader

Susan Schwabacher Modic

Active in many SBC youth organizations, Susan brings a background in business administration and is pleased to be included in this talented and dedicated group of individuals.
smodic@cffsbc.org
Ed Stephenson

Former Bank President

Ed Stephenson

As a retired banking executive, Ed continues to support the Boy Scouts, a passion for the past 25 years, as well as many other organizations in the community.
estephenson@cffsbc.org
Bob Tiffany

Business Owner, Tiffany Motor Company

Bob Tiffany

Bob grew up in Hollister, and worked in various marketing positions for General Mills until he returned in 1987 becoming the fourth generation to run the family's business, Tiffany Motor Company.
btiffany@cffsbc.org
Gene Zanger

Business Owner, Casa de Fruta

Gene Zanger

Gene is one of six grandchildren who share the responsibility of managing Casa de Fruta, a privately-owned operation established in 1908 with the first planting of orchards in Pacheco Valley.
gzanger@cffsbc.org