National Philanthropy Day

A Special Day of Community Spirit

Last event date: Thursday, November 16, 2023

Each year, the Community Foundation for San Benito County proudly celebrates National Philanthropy Day. Approximately 45 local community volunteers are honored at this event, complete with introductions of the honorees and Proclamations by representatives from San Benito County and the City of Hollister.

We’d like your organization to join this celebration of community spirit - a chance to step briefly into the spotlight and remind our communities, our society, and the world that the spirit of giving is alive and well.

Event Details

National Philanthropy Day 2024 - Details Coming Soon!









Submit Nominations

Recognizing Local Heroes

Submission Deadline

No submission for 2024 at this moment.

All nominations should be made following the instructions in the Guidelines.

Nomination Guidelines

Only one honoree per organization. This year we are focusing on youth, and we encourage you to nominate a youth who is doing good work for your organization. However, this is NOT a requirement, and you may nominate a youth or an adult. A husband and wife team is also permitted. You may also nominate a group or organization, but only 1 person may stand and be recognized during the presentation.

You will need to submit a script which will be read introducing the honoree. Due to the large number of organizations presenting awards this year, and recognizing the need for all organizations to be acknowledged during the event, there is a 100 word limit to the script.

Script Example

"We are grateful to honor John Smith for being instrumental to the success of YMCA’s Annual Campaign Drive. The YMCA has been in this community for six years, helping to build strong kids, families and communities. John’s energy and passion for children in general sets him apart as a major champion of our organization’s efforts to be financially stable to focus on our mission and purpose. We thank John for carving time in your life to give us endless hours of hard work making it possible to continue to serve the families and children of San Benito County."

The Community Foundation will create a slideshow to be shown at the event. You must send an electronic photograph of your nominee to be included. (4 MB maximum, JPG or GIF format only)

Submit Nominations

2023 Philanthropy Day Honorees

Since we began hosting a National Philanthropy Day event in 2001, we’ve honored hundreds of citizens for their leadership role within the community. Each year the list of honorees grows longer as more of our neighbors and friends step up and make change happen.

The Foundation would like to congratulate those individuals who were awarded in 2023:

ASJB Community Schools Foundation - John & Jackie Ferreira

BenitoLink - Alan & Bonnie Clark

CASA of San Benito County - Kristen Wynn

City of San Juan Bautista - Heidi Balz

Community Action Board - Tonia Sunseri

Community Food Bank - Glynis Crabb

Community Foundation for SBC - Fred Matteson

CSDC - Robert Ruvalcaba

Emmaus House - Rhonda Kathryn Dynneson

Friends of SBC Library - Tami Aviles

HDA - Teri Escamilla

Hazel Hawkins Hospital Foundation - Dr. Ralph Armstrong

Jovenes de Antaño - David Rochelle

Latino Coalition of San Benito County - Richard Perez, Sr.

Pinnacle Quilters - Ingrid Leitenberger

R.E.A.C.H. SBC Parks Foundation - Anita Kane

Rotary Club of Hollister - Bill Tiffany

Rotary Club of San Juan Bautista - Jessie O'Malley Solis

San Benito Arts Council - Heidi Balz

San Benito County Business Council - Shawn Herrera

San Benito County Chamber - Teknova & Infinity Staffing

San Benito Health Foundation - Dr. Erika Ceballos & Dr. Yazmin Gomez

San Benito County Historical Society - Wes Leiser

San Juan Bautista Library Auxiliary - Laura Frieberg

Spirit of San Juan Bautista - Monica Lopez Ramirez

Sun Street Centers - Cecilia Sa

United for San Benito - Shawna McKenzie

Women's Club of Hollister - Jeanna Liem

YMCA - Mallory Schmitt

Youth Alliance - Elvira Zaragoza Robinson

Youth Recovery Connections - Michael Salinas